Everyone must know by now that “Game of Thrones” is my latest obsession.  I’m watching the show 3 or 4 episodes at a time.  I may blog about this series in the future, but I feel that I haven’t gone far enough into it yet.  So let’s talk about something else.

Ummm…

I was in Alaska recently, I guess we can talk about that?

My older son suggested an Alaskan cruise a long time ago and my husband was quite eager to go.  It’s been on the back burner for a few years, perhaps because I wasn’t as gung-ho as they were.   They were so excited to plan this, that I couldn’t help but feel the same excitement.  So off we went to the land of glaciers….  We were joined by my sister-in-law and niece.  And what an amazing adventure we had.

First of all, if I have any advice to people considering this (or any other cruise) look at all the excursions as soon as you book the cruise.  We did this, and we had the adventures and experiences we really wanted.  Whale watching on the water, a train scenic ride through the town, scenic glacial parks, soaring eagles, an all you can eat crab dinner, and, my personal favourite, a walk on a glacier.

All 5 of us got into a helicopter and flew over the mountain looking down on the most beautiful scenery of trees, waterfalls, snowy mountains that you can ever imagine.  The view was spectacular and breathtaking while the helicopter ride was thrilling.  I felt like I was in that opening scene of M*A*S*H as we got on and off the helicopter.  When we landed, we were on a glacier!  Blue water and crevices from the minerals.  We drank from a glacier stream the cold delicious water.  I felt like I was on the moon.  I walked on a glacier!!  How cool is that!!

The temperature was about 16c during the cruise (except on the glacier, which is about 20 degrees cooler).  One crazy lady came on this excursion in shorts.  I could see those goose bumps standing at attention throughout the visit. I guess some people are hardier than others.  I was quite comfy in my light sweat pants.

Weather-wise, we were very lucky. Beautiful sunny days and no rain.  Very lucky.

Here is a photo that I took with my iPhone of a glacier from a park in Juno, Alaska.  I haven’t downloaded the ones from my camera yet.  I’ll get around to it soon-ish.

Juno Alaska